Why do we have power cuts?

Power cuts can be caused by a number of events; powerlines being snapped by wind or heavy snow, pylons collapsing, or overloaded transformers. Some are deliberate to avoid an overload or otherwise dangerous situation, such as an under-current to homes that could damage appliances.