What's the definition of long sighted?

Hypermetropia (long-sightedness) - inability to focus on nearby objects eg print in a book. Often caused by loss of elasticity of the lens which is unable to regain its convex shape sufficiently to refract the light from nearby object enough and bring it to a precise focus at the retinal surface.