When was high school musical released?

High School Musical was released on January 20, 2006, as part of Disney Channel’s Gotta Sing Gotta Dance Week block. It became the most commercially successful Disney Channel Original Movie ever produced, with 7.7 million viewers in its premiere broadcast.