Why do clothes go bubbly?

Clothes going bobbly, or pilling as it is also known, essentially occurs when too much abrasion or force is exerted on the garment. So all the basic rules of laundering to help prevent bobbles centre on being less tough, more gentle and even more comforting to the garment.