How do you play word chain?

Word chain is a game where players must come up with a word that starts with the last letter of the previous word. The words are based on a subject theme, and once a word has been used it can't be repeated. An example for food would be: Soup. Peas. Sugar. Rice. Egg. Grapefruit. Tomato. Orange.