Who wrote the story of miss muppet?

Little Miss Muffet was first printed in the “Songs for the Nursery” collection published in 1805. It’s origin is most commonly attributed to Dr. Thomas Muffet, a notorious physician and entomologist from the 16th century, the author of a scientific illustrated guide about insects.