Tell me about the film ice cold in alix?

The story is about a capt with a drink problem stuck in the desert having been left behind by the the English desert rats & 8th army on the run from the advancing Afrika corps, & all he has is 2 nurses, (1 of which gets killed on the way)1 sgt major, (who's been with him forever) & 1 german spy