Why are balloons called balloons?

The word 'balloon' has various origins. 'Ball' or 'large ball' is translated into 'ballon' in French and 'balla' in German. The North Italians called a 'ball shaped bundle' a 'balla', whilst Proto-Indo-European 'bhel' means 'to blow, swell, inflate'.