Who invented the flushing toilet?

The first flushing toilet was invented either by the Scots, in a Neolithic settlement dating back to 3000 B C, or to the Greeks, who constructed the Palace of Knossos in 1700 B C with large earthenware pans connected to a flushing water supply.