Why is cutlery called cutlery?

The etymology of the word 'cutlery' comes from the old French word 'coutelier', which means knife. The origins of the word is coming from the first documented use of the term 'cutler', in 1297, in Sheffield. Fork and spoon for a salad made from ivory and silver dates from half of 19th century.