Why is egg called banjo?

An Egg banjo is a British sandwich that was popular with British troops during WWII. The sandwich usually consists of nearly stale white bread filled with fried eggs and sauce. The yolk would often dribble down your chest and wiped with the other hand looking like you're playing an air banjo!