What is the hallmark for gold?

In the UK, a full hallmark will contain 5 symbols; a sponsors mark, two marks for fineness, the assay office mark, and a date mark. For pure gold; the traditional fineness mark is a crown, and the millesimal fineness mark is a numeric value within an octagonal shape. 999 indicates 24 carat gold.