Who's the world's best swimmer?

In terms of overall performance, it has to be American swimmer Michael Phelps who has won a massive 23 gold medals over 12 years of competitive swimming. The best female swimmer has to be American, Jenny Thompson who has won 12 medals in total including 8 gold.