What's the difference between first second and third degree murder?

First-degree murder is premeditated, or committed as part of another crime. Second-degree murder is unplanned, or caused by a reckless disregard for human life. Third-degree murder (also called manslaughter) is an unplanned, unintentional killing that is not part of another crime.