What does the enzyme catalyte breakdown?

An enzyme will interact with only one type of substance or group of substances called the substrate to catalyse a certain kind of reaction. Because of this specificity enzymes often have been named by adding the suffix “-ase” to the substrates name, as in urease which catalyses the breakdown of urea