Why do you say bless you after a sneeze?

Blessing someone who sneezes dates as far back as at least CE 77 in the West, although believed to be far older. During the plague of CE 590, Pope Gregory I ordered unceasing prayer for divine intercession. Part of his command was that anyone sneezing was be blessed immediately ("God bless you").