What's the function of insulin?

Insulin is an anabolic hormone that promotes glucose uptake, glycogenesis, lipogenesis, and protein synthesis of skeletal muscle and fat tissue through the tyrosine kinase receptor pathway. Insulin is the most important factor in the regulation of plasma glucose homeostasis.