Does pepper expire?

Yes. All spices and herbs lose their flavour over time and can also go rancid. Whole peppercorns last much longer than pre-ground pepper. The best way to check is just to taste a little and see if it still has a fresh peppery bite to it; if it doesn't taste good, it has expired.