What's a barmittzpha?

A Bar or Bat Mitzvah is a coming-of-age ceremony in the Jewish religion. It signifies a 13 year old child (12 year old for girls in Orthodox sects) being recognised as a full-fledged member of the Jewish community and the responsibilities that entails.