When was d. n. a. first used?

James Watson, Francis Crick and Rosalind Franklin first identified the double helix in 1953, Dr Jeffrey Glassberg filed the first patent which explored this opportunity in 1983, and British geneticist Sir Alec Jeffreys developed a profiling process the following year.