How do you measure heat?

Heat is typically measured in units called degrees Centigrade/Celcius or degrees Fahrenheit. Heat can be measured using a thermometer which relies on thermal expansion to measure a change in heat. The hotter the temperature, the further liquid inside a thermometer expands.