What's the difference between a house sparrow and a tree sparrow?

Look at their crown. Tree sparrows have a chestnut brown head and nape. House sparrow males have light grey crown, black around their eyes and a black patch covering throat and upper chest. Females have a buff coloured crown and lack the black around the eyes and throat. Common in urban areas.