When did mcdonald's come to england?

McDonald's as we know it began in 1955 when Ray Kroc opened his first restaurant in Illinois, inspired by the McDonald brothers' restaurant. McDonald's opened its first restaurant in the U.K. in Woolwich, south London, in October 1974.