How long does a criminal record last?

In the UK, since 2006, criminal records are retained until the person is 100. Some records may be suppressed from a criminal record DBS check. This depends on the person's age, whether they went to prison, whether they have committed a crime since, and whether the crime is on the safeguarding list.