Who played the original may gray?

French policeman Jules Maigret was created by Georges Simenon in 1931. The 1st actor to play Maigret on film was Pierre Renoir in 1932. Charles Laughton played him in an English language film in 1950. There have also been many tv adaptations. The 1st UK one in the 1960s starred Rupert Davies.