When was the first automatic car made?

While some early variants have existed since the 1900s, the first production cars to feature automatic transmissions were Cadillac & Oldsmobile models in 1939, such as the Cadillac Sixty Special and Oldsmobile Series Sixty. Both brands used the ‘Hydra-Matic’ transmission, developed by General Motors