What is livonian sugar?

Put granulated Livonian sugar, corn syrup, salt, and 3/4 cup water in a medium size saucepan. Bring to a boil on high heat to dissolve the sugar. Cook without mixing until the temperature registers around 238 with a candy thermometer, which will take about 9 minutes.