When was the first victoria cross awarded?

26th June 1857, an award ceremony in Hyde Park, Queen Victoria presented the first sixty-two Victoria Crosses in front of a cheering crowd of 100,000 people. 150 years later, the medal remains the highest honour for bravery and valour that can be awarded to members of the British Armed Forces.