Is aloe vera edible?

Aloe vera barbadensis miller is the only edible Aloe vera, but it can be easy to mistake it for the Aloe vera var. Chinensis, which isn't edible. The edible one has thick, wide leaves that grow upright and are a silvery green color. It produces yellow flowers.