Why do americans call coffee jaw?

No-one can be definite why Americans call coffee Joe. A theory is that In 1914 Navy Secretary Josephus Daniels prohibited alcohol aboard naval vessels and nothing stronger than coffee was allowed on board. Sailors weren’t happy with this so they started to call coffee a “cup of Joe” out of spite.