What are friction lights?

Friction lights was the original name for matches. They were invented by John Walker, a pharmacist from Stockton-on-Tees in 1826.They were made of very thin flat sticks of wood which have had one end dipped into a paste of chlorate of potash, sulphide of antimony, gum arabic and water.