Why do you get goosebumps?

Goose bumps are created when tiny muscles at the base of each hair, known as arrector pili muscles, contract and pull the hair erect. The reflex is started by the sympathetic nervous system, which is responsible for many fight-or-flight responses.

---

Humans have a similar instinctual reflex as other mammals. Even though we have less hair, when cold it stands on end to trap body warmth more effectively, and when threatened it stands on end to enlarge our appearance. Miniature muscles at the base of each hair create what looks like goose-bumps.