Why do you get goosebumps?

Humans have a similar instinctual reflex as other mammals. Even though we have less hair, when cold it stands on end to trap body warmth more effectively, and when threatened it stands on end to enlarge our appearance. Miniature muscles at the base of each hair create what looks like goose-bumps.