What's the first country in the world to celebrate the new year?

Kiribati is generally considered the first Sovereign Nation to celebrate the New Year as it has time zones spanning between 14 and 12 hours ahead of Greenwich. Meaning some parts of Kiribati are celebrating New Year when London, U.K. clocks read 10am.