Are foxes scared of cats?

Cats are quite formidable when cornered, and foxes may attack when starving, so the answer depends on the circumstances. Normally, neither will provoke the other without a strong reason. Foxes and cats will pretend to ignore each other, while also maintaining a respectful distance when passing.