Does mozzarella go off?

Tightly packaged, properly refrigerated, mozzarella cheese lasts as long as six months, but once opened, storage time drops to about one month. If mozzarella has an off smell, or if it smells like sour milk, it's a sign that the cheese has gone bad. Taste the cheese, then discard it if it tastes bad