What's an a. r. g.?

An ARG is an Alternate Reality Game. It gives the appearance of being a real-life adventurous situation, just something the player has stumbled upon. The games consist — for the most part — in tracking down clues scattered across the real and virtual world and assembling them to solve a mystery.