Why is a piggyback called a piggyback?

In the sixteenth century a pick pack was to carry something on the back or shoulders. Pick is a medieval version of pitch, so it meant a load that was pitched on to a person's back for carrying. A little later, pickpack, now modernised to piggyback, meant a ride on somebody's shoulders.