Where does the phrase clean as a whistle come from?

The origin of the phrase, clean as a whistle, has no definitive answer. Its origins may come from a dirty whistle, affecting its sound. Others hint that the phrase was changed over time from - clear - as a whistle. However, there are too many explanations of its origins to be certain.