How did will smith become famous?

According to Wikipedia. During the late 1980s, he achieved modest fame as a rapper under the name the Fresh Prince. In 1990, his popularity increased dramatically when he began starring in the NBC television series The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, which ran for six seasons until 1996.