What's the difference between short grain and long grain rice?

Image result for What's the difference between short grain and long grain rice? Short-grain rice is very starchy and cooks up soft and sticky. Long-grain rice contains less starch so the cooked grains are drier and more separate. It's often used in pilafs or dishes with a lot of sauce.