When should you bath a newborn baby?

The World Health Organization recommends delaying the first bath until at least 24 hours after birth. Others suggest waiting up to 48 hours or more. Once your baby is home, there's no actual need to bathe daily. Until the umbilical cord is healed, the AAP recommends you stick to sponge baths