What's the world record for drinking beer?

Amazing, but true – in 1977 American Steven Petrosino managed to down a litre of beer in just 1.3 seconds. A record that to this day has not been broken. An Englishman, Peter Dowdeswell, drank 45 litres in three hours, a feat which earned him an entry in the Guinness Book of Records.