What is the difference between beer and lager?

Firstly, there is no difference between beer and lager. ... The technical difference between the beer categories is in how they are brewed. Lager is a German word that translates as storage, which gives a hint as to its method of brewing. Lagers are beers that are ferment slowly at low temperatures.