How many towns are in the u. k.?

It depends upon what classifies as town (not hamlet, village, borough, Royal borough.) Even city status has various definitions, though the UK Government now has an "official" qualification. There are roughly 45 500 towns and villages which the Post Office database recognises for delivery purposes,