What do you call a map?

A topographic map shows large-scale details. A geological map shows items such as rock units. A political map. Physical maps for the landscape. Road maps. A cadaster map shows real estate. A dot distribution map uses dots to show the presence of features. A thematic map gives a theme in an area.