Why did jeremy clarkson get fired?

Jeremy Clarkson was suspended and then fired by the BBC after a fracas when he punched Top Gear producer Oisin Tymon. The incident occurred after Clarkson was told there was no hot food available after a day of filming, after arriving back to a hotel later in the evening.