Why is it called the union jack?

The Union Flag called Union Jack when used as a maritime bow flag. Called “Jack” after proclamation of King James I. Also "Jack flag", or the "King's Jack". by 1674, while formally referred to as "His Majesty's Jack", it was commonly called the "Union Jack", and this was officially acknowledged.