Who invented caramel?

The origin of Caramel is unknown. However salted caramel was Popularised in 1977 in Quiberon, Brittany, by French pastry chef Henri Le Roux in the form of a salted butter caramel with crushed nuts (caramel au beurre salé). Le Roux registered the trademark "CBS" (caramel au beurre salé) in 1981