What is bully base?

Bouillabaisse was originally a fish stew made by Marseille fishermen. They used the bony rockfish which they were unable to sell to restaurants or markets. There are at least three kinds of fish in a traditional bouillabaisse, typically scorpion fish; sea robin; and European conger.