Tell me the story of war of the worlds?

The War of the Worlds chronicles the events of a Martian invasion as experienced by an unidentified male narrator and his brother. During the astronomical opposition of 1894, when Mars is closer to Earth than usual, several observatories spot flashes of light on the surface of Mars.